Longtime Franklin Physicians Announce Retirements

October 7, 2020 Author: Johnson Memorial Health

 Johnson Memorial Health announces the retirement of two longtime pediatricians, Dr. Craig Moorman and Dr. Debra Holmes. Drs. Moorman and Holmes, who have practiced medicine for more than 70 years combined, will leave the JMH Pediatrics practice at the end of December.

“To say these two physicians are icons of Johnson County would be an understatement,” said David Dunkle, MD, President and CEO of Johnson Memorial Health. “Our community has been very fortunate to have such dedicated and respected doctors caring for so many generations of our children. They will be greatly missed.”

Dr. Moorman graduated from Wabash College and earned his medical degree at the Indiana University School of Medicine in 1977. After completing his pediatric internship and residency at Riley Hospital for Children, Dr. Moorman established Franklin Pediatrics in 1980. Board-certified by the American Board of Pediatrics, he is also a Fellow of the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP). Dr. Moorman currently serves as Health Officer for the Johnson County Health Department. For several years, he also served as Medical Director for Especially Kidz (formerly Haven Center) in Shelbyville. Dr. Moorman is a longtime member of the Franklin “Voices” choir and the Franklin Rotary. He also serves on the Johnson County Historical Society board and is President of the Johnson County Medical Society. Dr. Moorman and his family have lived in Franklin for over 40 years.

Dr. Holmes graduated from Indiana University School of Medicine in 1986 and completed her internship/residency at Methodist Hospital in 1987. She is board-certified by the American Board of Pediatrics and is a Fellow of the American Academy of Pediatrics. Dr. Holmes joined Dr. Moorman in practice in 1989. During her time at Johnson Memorial, Dr. Holmes has served on a number of committees and served as Medicine Department Chair. She is active in the community and has served as a board member of the Boys and Girls Club of Johnson County. She is also a member of the Franklin chapter of 100 Women Who Care. Dr. Holmes and her family have resided in Franklin for more than 30 years.

In anticipation of the retirement of Drs. Moorman and Holmes, Johnson Memorial Health continues to expand its Pediatrics practice. Megan Ciaccio, MD, Mary Chambers, MD, Amanda Jackson, MD, FAAP and Heidi Smith, CPNP will be joined in October by Dr. Sahand Banisadr. Dr. Banisadr will see patients at both the Franklin and Greenwood Pediatrics office.

Logo for Stroke Ready
Logo for Healthcare Facilities Accreditation
Logo for Emergency Care
Logo for Leapfrog
Logo for Excellence in Healthcare